Duck Dynasty Star Fired Over Remarks on Homosexuality – The Gospel Coalition Blog


Duck Dynasty Star Fired Over Remarks on Homosexuality – The Gospel Coalition Blog. Yes, of course, let’s silence any views that are not politically correct. Freedom of speech is obsolete and people need to conform to our more modern understanding of the individual’s relationship to society (that the individual is subservient to it and exists only to serve the needs of society).

Thus, hate speech, like that of Phil Robertson, must not merely be suppressed but punished harshly. People must learn that even the slightest criticism of celebrated peoples like the LGBTQ community, is utterly contrary to the sacred values of tolerance and diversity and must not be tolerated.

8 thoughts on “Duck Dynasty Star Fired Over Remarks on Homosexuality – The Gospel Coalition Blog

  1. See HERE and HERE
    Chancellor says:”As Christians, OUR culture, OUR nationality, OUR ethnicity, etc. is that of the kingdom of God. We’re citizens of God’s kingdom and are representatives of that kingdom. “
    Agreed., but try not to pay your taxes and see what happens.

    Chancellor says: “Since God’s kingdom doesn’t differentiate between the sin of homosexuality and the sin of lying (or any other sins except the unpardonable sin),”
    But it does though. Sexual sin in general (1 Corinthians 6:18) and HOMOsexual sin in particular (Romans 1) ARE treated as especially egregious violations of God’s holiness. The whole enterprise of gender, marriage, sex, it’s life producing nature, and it’s singular place as earthly representation of Christ and His precious church bride (Ephesians 5), place that aspect of God’s creation in a uniquely elevated place of priority to Him. The Lord God Jehovah uses explicitly erotic language to describe His enrapturing love of His covenant people Israel all thought the prophets. SEX IS BASIC and portrays HIS love. (Ezekiel 16 for instance)

    This is further manifest in the exceedingly severe nature of the punishments for it’s corruption. Need I really say more there for now.

    Hence the perversion and violation of this His own most ancient and foundational relation and institution is abominable to Him in direct proportion to it’s preciousness.

    Also, what would be your attitude if a society was hell bent on making lying legal and morally acceptable as they are with homosexuality? A man could sign a contract with you for business, break it and cry discrimination against liars when you complained? How bout if you jump a plane for JFK and they take you to Beijing instead. “Well, we lied see? This flight was going to China all along, but we didn’t feel it necessary to tell you that” Don’t laugh. Gay marriage was once just as unlikely.

    What would be your view if Derek Webb were asked his opinion on lying and refused to give one?

    Chancellor says: “I think the real problem is that the other sins that we are so often silent about are sins that hit a little too close to home.”
    You think in error in my case brother. Every sin is as damnable as a single bite from a piece of forbidden fruit. HOWEVER, some sins REALLY infuriate God more than others. This is also why immorality is the only grounds for divorce (Matt. 5 and 19) and the one who departs is ipso facto declared “the unbeliever”. (1 Cor. 7)

    Chancellor says: “The Apostle Paul asked in 1 Corinthians 5:12, ‘What have I to do with judging outsiders?’ (unbelievers). Maybe we should be taking the same approach.”
    Paul was here talking about individuals Chancellor. He’s telling me not to go to my next door neighbor’s house and tell them to quit fornicating, but to preach the gospel to them both by my example and my wise loving words. NOT that I should remain publicly indifferent to fornication.

    Chancellor says: “My question remains unanswered: “Why must Derek Webb make a public pronouncement regarding one sin (homosexuality), but not all other sins?” Why is it “unbiblical” (as you put it) to insist that people be consistent (e.g. if they’re going to make public pronouncements about any sin, they must make them about all sins equally because all sins offend a holy God).
    Because, as was answered numerous times at this Cosper guy’s blog, THAT is the sin that the western world is interested in right now. Please see above. The same WOULD go for any sin. HOWEVER, THIS is the one they want to know about at the moment. When asked about EH NEE THING, a man of God must be willing to unequivocally answer “thus saith the Lord” if the Lord has in fact thus said. It’s one thing if somebody asks which millennial view you hold or something, but when somebody asks you if blasphemy, murder, adultery, LYING or homosexuality (among others) is wrong and you aren’t willing to answer? So long. I want nothing to do with you. Webb is a childish, foul mouthed worldling with NO testimony whatsoever and his refusal to call evil that which God clearly abominates is just one big symptom.

    Chancellor answers: “What does it mean for the Church to be salt and light? Well, what it doesn’t mean is setting one sin apart as somehow being so much worse than all other sins (even though it isn’t the unpardonable sin) and continually attacking people and society for that sin.”
    See above please.

    Chancellor says: “Being salt and light is about how the Church lives in the world, not about what the words it speaks.
    I say it’s both. Consider the following post from HERE

    We absolutely ARE commanded to be salt and light. A healthy church, as in ἡ ἐκκλησία, the church at large, is the means to that end. The reason the western world and the United Sates especially, is rapidly descending into a grave of death and perversion is because THE CHURCH is no different than the world she is supposed to be salt and light to.

    Repentance begins in the house of the Lord. Correct voting habits and political/social activism are the very pinnacle of hypocrisy if not spawned from a faithful church that actually lives the transformed life she is so quick to require of pagans and politicians.

    What the culture sees as THE CHURCH, lives the same, fornicates the same, adulterates the same, divorces the same, talks the same, acts the same and drinks in all the same sick debauched media entertainment they do. I’m talking about conservatives whose spiritual and theological progenitors would be horrified to see what has been done with what they left us.

    Point? As long as THE CHURCH cannot even be accidentally mistaken for the body of Christ described in the New Testament, nothing else we do will make any difference. Demanding that a sinful culture not be sinful when we are as bad as they are, and in all the same areas, is worse than charging the leopard with the task of changing his own spots.

    We have NO influence because we have NO testimony. The world sees us as unholy duplicitous hypocrites, proclaiming to them: “do as I say and not as I do” on the grandest scale ever. The revival of the western world, assuming that is God’s intention, which is not a given, (but it might be) begins in the mirror.
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Chancellor says: The Church is supposed to be like Christ and I think that how effective the Church is at being salt and light depends on the degree to which it is like Christ.
    I couldn’t agree more. See directly above.

    Chancellor says: “It’s interesting that Jesus’ harshest language was toward the religious leaders.”
    Which is who I AM criticizing most harshly as well. I expect pagans to act like well… you know…pagans. I don’t expect people claiming the name of Jesus to act like them too. Except today, most people claiming the name of Jesus ARE pagans if I am to take my bible in the least seriously. (I do not include present company) Webb’s entire life is a self serving lie. It should come as no shock that he refuses to take a simple reasoned stand when asked, on one of THE defining issues of our day. He IS a religious leader by today’s definition. If not then why pray tell is he a celebrity who’s being interviewed all over the place as if his vapid music is worth interviewing him over, but then a simple question regarding his view of God’s precious covenant of marriage is not? You really don’t a see a problem there? I think you’re a good man brother. I do. I also think you have NOT thought some things through.

    Chancellor says: “He dealt with sinners, not by railing against them, not by picketing their funerals with signs that say how much God hates them,
    By this time you know I’m gonna say that I agree here too. I do believe that God hates the non elect. I also know that He can do that and I can’t because I have no idea who they are. I also am a sinner, who would be in the same lake of fire they are on their way to were it not for His sovereign grace. I’m not allowed to hate ANYbody. So I don’t. There are God hating gay people I know who I love and pray for. Who I have shed tears for begging God to save them. ElderForlife was one. He railed on me mercilessly for over a year and I only offered him my hand and friendship and told him how I wanted him as my brother. It’s the folks who mangle the word of God and try to declare as good that which He clearly says is evil that I have ZEEROH tolerance for. (Rachael Held Evans for instance)

    Chancellor says: but by gently communicating the message “Go and sin no more.” We are left in the world to communicate one message and only one message: “Be reconciled to God” (see 2 Corinthians 5:20). We do this by communicating the gospel.”
    Ok, but the gospel includes the declaration of the exceeding sinfulness of sin otherwise why are we telling them that reconciliation is needed? If people aren’t being told they are living in sin, defined as the violation of God’s law, then how will they know what “go and sin no more” means if we don’t tell them? DO NOT take this for granted. Huge segments of the visible church are proclaiming that you CAN be a champion for Jesus and live your homosexual life just fine (among many other abominable practices nowadays).

    You also don’t seem to be fully conscious of the fact that the Church must live under the laws that the state imposes. They WILL make it illegal to home school and they WILL force us to send our children to a state indoctrination center where perversion WILL be force fed to them. Mark my words. We should just accept that and not lift a finger to lawfully oppose it? You must not be paying attention to what’s going on over here. Christian businesses are being bankrupted for refusing to accommodate gay marriages. As in no livelihood. A lifetime’s work, investment and dreams stolen from them in the name of LGBT rights. HERE is but one example. You feel that if this was done to you or someone you love, that it would be ungodly to peacefully and lawfully so much as speak out against it? See, these people are PAYING DEARLY for their faithfulness and we can’t get these snooty shallow musicians to utter a single syllable one way or another and I’m supposed to respect that? Go ahead. I won’t be joining you.

    Chancellor says: It doesn’t matter what governments do or don’t do with regard to marriage or homosexuality or adultery or anything else.
    I just demonstrated to you that it does.

    Chancellor says: Paul commanded that we pray for those in authority.”
    We can do that while upholding righteousness in the public square and raising up a standard against sin. I do.

    Chancellor says: “so that we would live “a tranquil and quiet life in all godliness and gravity” (1 Timothy 2:2 ASV).”
    What tranquil life? Tell that to the folks who are losing their businesses and having their lives terribly damaged for doing what Derek Webb will not. There was another one just recently in Texas too. This is going to grow by leaps and bounds. Mark my words there too.

    Chancellor says: “He didn’t command us to speak out against the ungodly in the issues of the day. He didn’t command us to be controversial (though being a Christian is itself controversial because it is utterly contrary to the world’s value systems). We are, however, supposed to be as different from the world as light is from darkness – but that has to do with our world view and how we live our lives, not merely the words we say.
    See my post from the other site above again.

    You disagree with the reformed confessions I take it then?

  2. This will require a bit more. When I can. You have a major blind spoy here AND you assume incorrectly about me.

    For now consider this conversation between myself and an atheist calling himself “MikeTheBear” (who is not gay) 3 years ago. “ElderForlife” is a former Mormon missionary who left his wife and 3 children to be with his boyfriend. There are some epic battles on that site buddy, I mean to tell ya.
    =======================================================

    MikeTheBear wrote:
    Tirib, let me focus on this part of your statement:

    “Gay marriage is simply a natural step in devaluing THE single component that most accounted for our rise and is now the direct cause of our fall. Gays can do what they want. I will not be kicking their doors down, but DO NOT attempt to sell that to me as marriage or a family.”

    It sounds like you don’t have a problem with gays per se. >>>

    Follow me please. According to the Word of God it is an abomination. A damnable perversion of the created order of the holy designer. Therefore I abhor the practice accordingly as one who proclaims Jesus as my Lord. HOWEVER, my life before Christ was also a damnable abomination and I regularly committed acts of all kinds that should have bought me a one way ticket to the lake of fire. It is only by the unsearchable grace of a merciful God that I type this as a new creature in Christ having been transformed by the power of His blood and resurrection. I am not allowed to hate or self righteously condescend to ANYBODY.

    Take elder forlife as an example. I honestly and truly pray for him AND his “partner”. He may not know or believe this, but I have invested myself in him. I care about him. I want him as my brother. How can that ever be if somebody were to round him up and kill him? That’s not what I want. This is not theocratic Israel. One strike and you’re out. I should have been struck dead where I stood ten thousand times. How am I gonna put my nose in the air and cringe and wince at the “filthy fag and his homo boyfriend”? No sir. To me he’s just another lost man who needs Jesus. My hand is always out to him.

    MikeTheBear wrote:<<>>

    Phelps and his Westboro crew are traitors to the very gospel of grace they claim to preach. They do not know their own sin and it is that that produces their anti-Christian holier than thou hatred.

    MikeTheBear wrote:I’m guessing you probably don’t care if gay couples buy houses together, live together, make medical decisions for one another, and inherit property when one partner passes away. You have a problem with attaching the word “marriage” and “family” to such relationships. Is that right? >>>

    As I said. I have a major problem with homosexuality period. My purpose in their regard on this planet though is to reflect to them the everlasting lovingkindness shown to me. As I read the scriptures, that purpose is not served by unduly suffocating their lives. I would like it if nobody was gay, but being that some are, I’m not going to be the one to tell otherwise peaceable citizens who can legally do what within the context of their private life. I will however never relent from calling them to repentance and declaring their lifestyle the horrific sin that it is.

    Lastly for now, NO NO NO a thousand times NO!!! Making homosexuality into marriage and or family is as I say, another indicative of a society that has clearly lost it’s way and is not long for this world in anything like it’s historical stature. To sum up? I would enter a burning building to drag elder forlife to safety. I really would (as I’m preaching the gospel to him even if he was unconscious =) ) That is not just talk and I would not be sorry I did even if he told to f**k off after I saved his life. The Lord loved me and did not give up on me long after I had given up on myself. How can I give anybody else less? Homosexuality is still a capitol crime before the throne of the most high God and I will never dare call it anything else or accept it’s being given social status reserved for a man, his female wife and their children. Many will write me off (again) as an anachronistic fanatical religious antique best put away in an attic somewhere. I couldn’t care less.

      1. More Spine that Derek Webb wouldn’t take much.

        It is utterly unthinkable that Jesus or any of the apostles would fail to give their crystal clear view when asked in a public forum about the sinfulness or not of something like homosexuality. Unlike that carnal greedy worldling Derek Webb, they would NEVER pass up an opportunity to uphold righteousness.

        He makes me sick. When did it become Christian to avoid controversy when it’s put right in your lap? He represents the very worst nauseating cowardice and selfishness plaguing Christendom today. While I do NOT believe that transforming culture is the church’s mission per se, I’d be interested to learn your view on what it means for her to be salt and light. I found your proclamation of detached retreat HERE to be at least as wholly unbiblical as those who think that forcing sinners to behave like saints at the point of the magistrate is the mission of the church. I’m just being honest.

        1. From the thread where you found my apparently objectionable comments: “As Christians, OUR culture, OUR nationality, OUR ethnicity, etc. is that of the kingdom of God. We’re citizens of God’s kingdom and are representatives of that kingdom. Since God’s kingdom doesn’t differentiate between the sin of homosexuality and the sin of lying (or any other sins except the unpardonable sin), we have no business doing so. I think the real problem is that the other sins that we are so often silent about are sins that hit a little too close to home.

          The Apostle Paul asked in 1 Corinthians 5:12, ‘What have I to do with judging outsiders?’ (unbelievers). Maybe we should be taking the same approach. Paul ‘worked harder’ than any of the other Apostles and was used of God to spread the gospel through most of the Roman Empire – we certainly wouldn’t be able to accuse Paul of being soft on sin or of preaching a watered-down gospel, yet it’s clear he didn’t see the need to judge unbelievers.” My question remains unanswered: “Why must Derek Webb make a public pronouncement regarding one sin (homosexuality), but not all other sins?” Why is it “unbiblical” (as you put it) to insist that people be consistent (e.g. if they’re going to make public pronouncements about any sin, they must make them about all sins equally because all sins offend a holy God).

          What does it mean for the Church to be salt and light? Well, what it doesn’t mean is setting one sin apart as somehow being so much worse than all other sins (even though it isn’t the unpardonable sin) and continually attacking people and society for that sin. Being salt and light is about how the Church lives in the world, not about what the words it speaks. The Church is supposed to be like Christ and I think that how effective the Church is at being salt and light depends on the degree to which it is like Christ. It’s interesting that Jesus’ harshest language was toward the religious leaders. He dealt with sinners, not by railing against them, not by picketing their funerals with signs that say how much God hates them, but by gently communicating the message “Go and sin no more.” We are left in the world to communicate one message and only one message: “Be reconciled to God” (see 2 Corinthians 5:20). We do this by communicating the gospel. It doesn’t matter what governments do or don’t do with regard to marriage or homosexuality or adultery or anything else. Paul commanded that we pray for those in authority so that we would live “a tranquil and quiet life in all godliness and gravity” (1 Timothy 2:2 ASV). He didn’t command us to speak out against the ungodly in the issues of the day. He didn’t command us to be controversial (though being a Christian is itself controversial because it is utterly contrary to the world’s value systems). We are, however, supposed to be as different from the world as light is from darkness – but that has to do with our world view and how we live our lives, not merely the words we say.

          I hope this helps.

Comments are closed.