3 Common Ways to Read Scripture – The Gospel Coalition Blog


3 Common Ways to Read Scripture – The Gospel Coalition Blog.

I do understand what the author is saying, and I don’t have a real problem with what was said. However, I still have a really bad taste in my mouth after an elder in a decidedly anti-intelligence, anti-intellectual church told me several years ago that I shouldn’t study the Bible, but should just read it “devotionally.” There is this notion in some circles that we’re supposed to just put our brain into park while the Holy Spirit somehow just magically tells us what the scriptures mean.

One thought on “3 Common Ways to Read Scripture – The Gospel Coalition Blog

  1. True. We should read the word ourselves in prayer to know the truth. Otherwise we can be lead astray by doctrines that only seem to be of the word when in fact are not. Yahweh bless. Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.