Make it Coffee Strong and Black


Image

Several decades ago, my dad wrote a song that included the words “make it coffee strong and black.” It was a song about drinking (alcohol) and driving afterward, but I reclaim for myself the six words “make it coffee strong and black.” I reclaim those words for myself because, well, I like my coffee strong and black – but not Starbucks coffee: friends don’t let friends drink Starbucks.

Consistent with my enjoyment of strong, black coffee is my enjoyment of Turkish coffee (but without the sugar or spices). If you think dark roast or espresso (it’s not “expresso”) are strong, then you haven’t had Turkish coffee. Good sources like CoffeeGeek,com have information about what Turkish coffee is and how to make it.

I went to Costa Rica in December 2009 to participate in an immersion Spanish course and, while I was there, had the opportunity to tour the Golden Bean Coffee Plantation, otherwise known as Hacienda Real. In fact, the picture at the top of this article is of me standing in front of a huge coffee roaster there. Anyway, I really appreciated the opportunity to see how coffee goes from unharvested bean to freshly brewed cup. Image

I enjoy coffee. Ethiopian coffees are really good, though I like Indonesian coffees more (especially Sumatra varieties). The coffee from Costa Rica is pretty good too. Most people are familiar with Colombian coffee (and the image of Juan Valdez with his burro). If you’re some snooty rich person (I’m not), you’re likely to be drinking kopi luwak (from Indonesia), Black Ivory (from Thailand, picked from elephant dung), Jamaican Blue Mountain, or Hawaiian Kona.

I like drinking coffee at local coffee shops or regional chains like Spot Coffee here in the Buffalo, New York – Toronto, Ontario region. I tolerate brand name coffees that you buy at the grocery store and would never recommend the coffees labeled for particular grocery stores as a cheaper store brand. I detest “instant” coffee.

As I said earlier, I like my coffee strong and black. Whether Turkish coffee or Cuban coffee  or espresso or a regular coffee brewed strong. I will not adulterate my coffee by adding anything else to it, thank you very much.

Coffee, particularly a strong, black coffee, goes really well with dark chocolate (containing between 85 and 95 percent cocoa) and cigars – two other things I really enjoy.

Make it coffee strong and black.